Skip to main content

How to Read Call Numbers 索書號介紹: Home 主頁

What is a call number? 什麼是索書號

Each book in the library has a unique call number which helps to identify where the book is located in the library. Call numbers appear on the spine of books, periodicals and other items.  The OUHK Libraries use the Library of Congress Classification to classify all library materials. This system uses a combination of letters and numbers to arrange materials. It gives information about the subject, author or publication year of a book. 
香港公開大學圖書館採用美國國會圖書館分類號,以英文字母及數字組成,標示了書籍的主題、作者和出版年份等資料。圖書館內每一本書籍、期刊或其他資料都編有一個獨一無二的索書號,並按著這個編號來排列的。  

Read a call number line by line 索書號的結構與含義

e.g. HB171.5 .C788 2013 C.2 以「HB171.5 .C788 2013 C.2」為例子

call number

 The first part of a call number contains letters. These letters are read in alphabetical order from A to Z. 
索書號第一部份由一至二個英文字母組成,將書籍由A至Z順序排列。

 The second part of the call number contains numbers which are read as a whole number. This part may also contain a decimal. 
第二部份由數字組成,並可能存在小數點,要按整組數字的數值大小順序排列。

 The third part consists of a single letter and then a sequence of numbers. Items are placed first in alphabetical order by the letter, then numerically according to the sequence of numbers. 
第三部份由小數點、英文字母及數字共同組成,先按英文字母序排列,再根據整組數字的數值排列。

 The final lines of the call number may include dates, volume numbers, issue numbers, copy numbers, and other annotations. These annotations are read after the call number.
結尾部份提供額外資料,如出版年份、冊數、期數、複本數目等。
 

Collection prefix 索書號前標示館藏類別的字母

 

Some call numbers are preceded by a collection prefix indicating that the item is shelved in a specific location and may have loan restrictions. For example: 
有些索書號的開端有一組英文字母,表示所屬館藏類別,例如:

  • "REF" means in Reference Collection "REF" 是參考藏館藏
  • "ROB" means Oversize books in Reference Collection "ROB" 指特大參考館藏
  • "SER" means in Serials "SER" 指期刊 
  • "GOB" means Oversize books in General Collection "GOB" 指一般館藏庫中的特大藏書 
  • "RES" means Reserve "RES" 為指定教科書
  • "TEA" means Teaching Resource "TEA" 指教學資源
  • "OU" means OUHK collection "OU" 是香港公開大學典藏

How library materials are shelved 圖書館資料的排架方法

Library materials are shelved according to the call number on the spine of the materials. The call number on the book spine matches the one found in the Library Catalogue 
圖書館資料的排架方法是按照書脊上的索書號排列,而該索書號與圖書館目錄的館藏紀錄所顯示的相同。
For example: 

A call number in Library Catalogue 圖書館目錄所顯示的索書號:
HB90 .C788 2013

A call number on spine 書脊上的索書號:
HB
90
.C788
2013
 

How to shelve library materials by call numbers 按照索書號排列圖書館資料

The first line of a call number will be shelved alphabetically. 
索書號的第一行會按照英文字母的先後次序排列。

For example 例如:

The second line of a call number will be shelved in numerical order. A call number with a smaller number is placed before one with a larger number. 
索書號的第二行會依照數字,由小至大的原則排列。

For example 例如:

The third line of a call number will be shelved alphabetically and then numerically. It should be noted that all numbers in this line are treated as if they were preceded by a decimal. 
索書號的第三行會先以按英文字母的先後次序,接著按數字的數值由小至大排列。要留意這個數值要看作成小數點後之數值。

For example 例如:

The final line of the call numbers include dates, volume numbers, issue numbers, copy numbers, and other annotations. In such case, it will follow an ascending order. 
最後一行一般是年份、期數、冊數、複本編號等說明項目,這些資料會按小至大的原則順序排列。

Eventually, the call numbers will be arranged like this: 
依照以上排列次序的例子:

Contact Us 聯絡我們

phone number  2768 6777

email libwww@ouhk.edu.hk

Comments? 請給我們意見

How useful is this guide? 你認為這個指南有用嗎?
Very useful 非常有用: 4 votes (1.87%)
Useful 有用: 2 votes (0.93%)
Moderate 一般: 0 votes (0%)
Not useful 沒有用: 208 votes (97.2%)
Total Votes: 214